First Day of my Last Semester tomorrow!

The first day of the spring semester starts tomorrow.  It is also my last semester at TXState since I graduate in May.  It’s off to a great start haha.  Four overdue library books, 3 of which I turned in last night.  One of those three they charged me $73 for replacement since they assumed I lost it.  That should be taken off since I returned it.  Two of those three were interlibrary loans so I hope those privileges aren’t suspended…The last one was forced into being overdue since the library wouldn’t let me renew it with my other overdue books.  Thanks a lot library!  Now I have to read this giant tome as quickly as I can so I’ll be able to check out books again…and I’m sure I’ll have to pay at least $5 for all of this so that I won’t have a hold on my transcript (and probably so I can apply for graduation).

Friday, July 16, 2010

Today I worked on widening and flattening the tread behind the rock wall with Laura.  It’s looking so nice!  We had good conversation which made the day fly by faster.  John let us get out of work early since it was so hot and bought us some snacks with SCA $.  After enjoying that goodness we washed off at the river; it felt so nice and I feel so clean.  Now Ian and Laura are cooking dinner including dinosaur tofu burgers!!Today is a very good day 🙂  I can’t believe it’s already halfway through July and that there are only 15 work days left.  It’s exciting.  I read the story of Smokey the Bear earlier; Forest Service propaganda!!

My first tent tick; crap, now I’m nervous.  I hope it just got on me while I was outside and that only one is in the vicinity…

Saturday, July 17, 2010

I brushed bigger trees all day today and did a little tread work at the end.  Laura and I had another good talk, this time about abortion.  Her and I actually have a lot of common viewpoints.  If all or most northeasterners are like her then I would get along pretty well up there.  Today John and I talked about our goals.  I mentioned how I don’t always work as hard as I could and that I need some serious rest this next off-hitch.  I started off this hitch tired and never built up any energy since then.  He complimented me on my goals saying that they are applicable throughout my life yet specific enough to apply to this summer.  At the end of the work day Ian made some unhelpful comments as I as putting the Dolemar in the truck and it really got to me.  His whole attitude since he got back has gotten to me and it shouldn’t.  His immaturity should not affect my happiness.  I felt like he didn’t even listen to what I had to say during feedback.  Oh well, it’s just another experience to grow and learn from and one more thing I will not miss from this summer.  Also, this morning, I woke up with a serious hand cramp/numbness.  I hate that part of this job; it’s pretty painful.  I’m stressing out and eating way too much sugar.  After today I need to cut it out.  It’s unhealthy and that’s not the way I want to live!

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Today was probably the fastest roller coaster I’ve ever been on.  I wanted to cry while working on tread because my cramps were so bad.  Laura and I had a heart-to-heart in which I vented about the testosterone level.  Then I went back to tread work and was pretty happy without the pain.  Also had some nice alone time.  Then I worked on the outslope for the rock wall foundation which was frustrating since rocks kept rolling down the hill and I really had no idea of what I was doing.  Upon returning to camp I helped Pat with dinner and was in a pretty decent mood.  Then I started craving chocolate and gave into it and now I feel ft and bloated and just want to go to bed.  These hormones are killing me today.  I’ll be prepared for them tomorrow and won’t let anything (or anyone) ruin my day.  Also I’m going to create a new goal to eat healthy from now until the rest of my life which means portion control, less sugar and cutting out HFCS.  Ah HFCS, such fond party memories 🙂

Monday, July 19, 2010

Today started off really depressing.  It was raining and nobody was talking.  I was pretty confused about what was to happen today and therefore felt like a terrible leader.  I wasn’t told anything yesterday about today, so how was I supposed to know anyways?  I think it would be ridiculous if it came up in feedback; I hope it turns out better next time.  All I did today was work on new tread.  The day went by relatively quickly and the next two days will be short.  Alex is coming tomorrow and there will be the BBQ contest!! I’m really enjoying my current book.  Levin is by far my fave character; he’s living his ideal life and striving for happiness.  Too bad he was scorned by a woman…I have no dia what’s going to happen to knocked up Anna.  We will see!  Day dreaming has helped the day go by faster, never when it’s unsafe or inappropriate of course.  They are generally about one person whom I’m about to write a letter as we speak 🙂

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Today Alex and Shane joined us on the trail.  Patrick and I fire-raked the road all day.  In the morning Alex played games with us.  The first one was pretty ridiculous.  We created a couple of stories between the three of us.  The first one involved huge spiders that we ‘extinguished’ and the second one involved happy rabies and becoming addicted.  Pat and I ended with a bit of trail restoration.  Also received a letter from my mom today full of negative news about the family.  Then at the library I get stressed out about bills not being taken care of at the old apt and questions that I’ve already answered being asked again.  It’s super annoying…Along with these issues I’m asking myself some important life quiestions…I do not want to deal with this right now…BBQ contest tonight! and hitch report.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Worked on the rock wall all day and had my first wheel-barrowing shale experience.  Enjoyed some pizza and pie (hehe) at Jason’s.  Also found out that the Forest Service will treat us to a boat ride and dinner on the lake for all the good work we’ve done! Yes!  Now we are finishing up laundry and going to Stanton tomorrow.  I’m so glad the off-hitch is finally here.  I’m ready to ditch the rest of the group as much as possible.  I’m tired of the same people…mainly just one person and my patience is wearing thin…

Leave a Reply

