Wherigo and traveling

I did my first Wherigo cache a few weeks back in Government Canyon State Natural Area.  I’ll do my best to explain it since I’ve only done one.  It took forever to figure out how to get the cartridge on my phone, which is the best platform I have for this sort of cache.  Basically once you get close enough to a particular coordinate, the device being used issues a sound and gives you the next command.  At the end of this particular Wherigo, “The Legend of Helga”, there is an actual container.
This is not the case for all Wherigos.  In “The Legend of Helga”, I was the hero, the person who was supposed to save Princess Helga.  First I had to retrieve my weapons which I lost several times after getting beat up by bandits.  It took me awhile to find the invisibility cloak I needed.  In fact, I died twice before finding that dumb cloak, which really did not make me completely invisible to either the witch or the dragon.  Anyways, this mediocre hero eventually defeated the dragon and saved the princess, earning the adoration of all of the townspeople, and I received a dragon-slayer medal out of it!  It took me awhile to complete this cache but it was worth it!  I much prefer the ones with physical containers at the end.

I love to travel, especially to places with mountains.  I hope to eventually visit every corner of the earth.  Nowhere is off-limits to my adventurous spirit.  It took a trip to Seattle to remind me of this.  The trip also helped me realize that I need to make real money for this dream to come true.  (Sure boats are probably cheaper than planes but it also takes forever to cross an ocean).  This will surely be a factor in my future decisions.

Leave a Reply

